Cardiff Docks: ‘Below the Bridge’ 1982/83

A selection of photographs I took of Butetown and the Docks area of Cardiff before the redevelopment – the book has been in my study for years, and is a little tatty!

If you hover over the pictures, you will be able to read the captions.  Click on a single picture and you will be able to see an enlarged version within a slide show.

 

WHAT I HAVE NEVER FEATURED ON THIS BLOG are a few of the hundreds of shots I took of Cardiff Docks for the then WELSH INDUSTRIAL & MARITIME MUSEUM that used to be just a stones’ throw from the wooden Norwegian Church which is just by the new Welsh Assembly building.  

This was back in 1982/3, when three of us were employed on one of those ‘community schemes’, and as well as me photographing the area to memorialise it, we interviewed, on tape, as many locals as we could, did as much research on the history of the area that time allowed and at the end of the year’s contract, the Museum staged an exhibition of our work, and published the ‘book’ we wrote – which was called “BELOW THE BRIDGE”.

The idea of redevelopment was already in the air, although not yet agreed, and it was the foresight of the then Curator, to put this project together – altho’ I have to say the ‘politics’ within such a small museum was vicious, and it wasn’t a very happy year, which is perhaps why I’ve never talked much about it – smile.

I knew the area so well at the time, and had wandered into every foot of the old Docks – the pubs and clubs, on some of the ships and the businesses around the area – and community hall – but I get totally lost there now!

The book and the archive seem to have vanished from public sight – they must have been lodged somewhere, as that was the point of the whole project – but I’ve no idea where.

I’ve recently reconnected to Linked-In, and a few people were asking what kind of photographs I used to take, when I was a ‘serious’ photographer, and it occurred to me that it would be nice to show the collage above, and use this page to create a mini-portfolio of my work.

Among the other posts I have put up on this blog, there are some of my favourite photos – you can see the set of photos I took in 1981 of the small local mine that until it closed in 1985 still worked with pit ponies HERE

And a still life, taken on large format, that I have played with HERE

And a collage of photos taken at various Agricultural Shows HERE

All comments would be welcome – its nice to get feedback – critical or not – smile.

 

4 thoughts on “Cardiff Docks: ‘Below the Bridge’ 1982/83

let's have a chat …..

